• Tarangire National Park
  • Serengeti National Park
  • Ngorongoro Crater and Conservation Area
  • Mikumi National Park
  • Lake Manyara
  • Mahale Mountains National Park
  • Mount Kilimanjaro National Park
  • Katavi National Park
  • Arusha
  • Mkomazi National Park
  • Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar


Tanzania is mountainous and densely forested in the northeast, where Mount Kilimanjaro is located. Three of Africa’s Great Lakes are partly within Tanzania. To the north and west lie Lake Victoria, Africa’s largest lake, and Lake Tanganyika, the continent’s deepest lake, known for its unique species of fish. To the southwest lies Lake Nyasa. Central Tanzania is a large plateau, with plains and arable land. The eastern shore is hot and humid, with the Zanzibar Archipelago just offshore.